“I Love You” – A Poem

So I found a blue moleskin tucked away in my room with this, among some other things, written in it. It’s titled as a draft but I don’t believe that.

I say it to you
I say it so true
When you say it back
It feels like adieu

More sure of it now
Than first it was said

‘Cause I’m more at peace
With thoughts in my head

Three words that we know get bandied around
What people love most is just how they sound

But not when I say it
Perhaps nor with you
Perhaps I imagine
That sound of adieu 

Tonight when you said it
You rid me of fears
Expressed it so well
You brought me to tears

It’s not just the drink
Nor the late hour
Tears brought to the brink
And here comes the shower. 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

